### MINUTES ENVIRONMENTAL COMMITTEE March 30<sup>th</sup>, 2006 Halifax, Nova Scotia

Nigel Banks	Brandon Hines	Maureen Prendiville
Winston Blackmore	Dave Hines	Jason Quantz
Mary-Anne Dalkowski	Ian Jones	Mike Richards
Paul Dandy	Rick Knechtel	Dave Rollins
Brian Delbrueck	George Labelle	Marcia Straatsma-Rennie
Martin Ellefson	Peter Mason	John Wilkinson
Herb Estreicher	Larry McTaggart	Craig Wilson
Craig Frohlich	Tom Mitchell	Doug Wilson
Danny Goodine	Jim Mogan	
Dave Harris	Tom Moryto	
Peter Hattin	-	

STAFF:

Henry Walthert Robert Lloyd

#### COMMITTEE MEMBERS:

Mr. M. Hollick (Acting Chairperson) Mr. Nigel Banks Mr. Craig Wilson Mr. Linus Clark Mr. Friedl Brudermann Mr. Craig Frohlich Mr. Doug Wilson Mr. Rick Knechtel Mr. John Wilkinson

#### 1. CALL TO ORDER

Acting chair I. Jones called the meeting to order.

### 2. ADOPTION OF AGENDA

Reversed the order of items 5 and 6.

Motion by R. Knechtel and seconded by C. Wilson to adopt the agenda as presented. CARRIED

## 3. MINUTES OF THE PREVIOUS MEETING

Motion by P. Mason and seconded by C. Frohlich to adopt the minutes of the previous meeting held October 24<sup>th</sup> 2005. CARRIED

# 4. ENVIRONMENT CANADA STRATEGIC OPTION PROCESS

J. Klassen from Environment Canada reported on SOP activities. The industry as a whole is working well towards meeting the recommendations. Audits are expected to be completed by October 2006.

# 5. HAZARDOUS WASTE REGULATIONS

H. Estreicher reported on updates to the Environment Canada trans-boundary hazardous waste regulation and how it affects the industry. Environment Canada will also introduce similar inter provincial regulations in the summer of 2006. WPC is active with the user groups to address concerns.

## 6. TRD CERTIFICATION

I. Jones presented updates to the Canadian Wood Preservation Certification Authority to the members and distributed an information package containing an introduction to the program, an introduction to the auditors as well as the regulations governing the program.

# 7. COMMENTS FROM MEMBERS

Nil

## 8. ADJOURNMENT

Motion by N. Banks and seconded by C. Wilson to adjourn the meeting. CARRIED